[un]titled


top 5 most influential bands.
January 18, 2009, 3:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

welp, i barely made my deadline. in my last post i stated that one of my new years resolutions were to blog more often. and so i want to try doing it once a week. i barely made it this week.

but just for kicks and giggles, im going to compile a list of influential bands in my lifetime with the use of 3 different catagories: childhood (elementary shool-middle school), high school, and after high school (aka this past year). so with out further to do, here we go.

CHILDHOOD (elementary school and middle school):

top 5 influential bands:

1) third day- for the cd, “time”.  that cd owned me in elementary school.

2) dc talk- they were the first to introduce me to good harmonies. the song “in the light” was awesome.

3) nirvana- my sister, rachele, introduced me to nirvana for the first time. “in bloom” was my favorite back then.

4) incubus- another band my sister introduced me to. “wish you were here” was one of the first songs i learned to play and sing.

5) switchfoot- “the beautiful letdown” was an awesome album. “meant to live” introduced me to drop d tuning and ive never been the same.

honorable mention: dave matthews band

HIGH SCHOOL:

top 5 influential bands:

1) manchester orchestra- they just made music that i connected with. it challenged me creativly, in the way i write, and in my faith.

2) jimmy eat world- they are my favorite band of all time. the relationship that both guitars have in the songs are unmatched. “clarity” is my favorite cd of all time. and 99% of their stuff is in drop d and i love drop d tuning.

3) david crowder band- all of dcb’s cds are amazing. especially “collision”. the song “rescue is coming” changed the way i wrote woship music. i can’t tell you how many times ive had awesome woship experiences while driving alone in my car, listening to them.

4) foo fighters- 2 words. dave grohl.

5) phil wickham- he just revolutionized the way i thought about woship music. i remember the first thing i thought when i heard his first cd, “this is the future of what woship music will sound like. this is awesome.”

honorable mentions: brand new, hillsong united

AFTER HIGH SCHOOL (aka this past year):

top 5 influential bands:

1) jon foreman- he single handedly transformed the way i wrote lyrics. one of my favorie writers. his 4 ep’s owned me for a long time.

2) the avett brothers- they helped me realize my love for bluegrass/folk/indie music. their harmonies are so good

3) john mark mcmillan- he’s the perfect blend of folk, rock, and coldplay. his lyrics are so amazing. his newest album “the medicine” still dominates me.

4) phil wickham- “cannons” blew my mind. just listen to it and you’ll understand. he has some of the greatest vocals of our time.

5) coldplay- ok now 3 words….viva…la…..vida.

honorable mentions: death cab for cutie, manchester orchestra, charlie hall, cold war kids.

welp, there ya go. how about you guys give me some lists of your own? or just any thoughts in general?

just do it. you know you want to.

thanks guys!

jb.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

first off, i didn’t know anything about this site. or that you were on it. second, you are amazing. you really have no idea how truly honored i am to call you my brother; or how hugely proud i am to call you my friend. whatever you have in store for this blogsite has got nothin’ on what our sweet Jesus has in store for you as you continue to “bloom”.
i love you Joseph.

Comment by Rachele

I just stumbled across this, we’ve got quite a few in common! my “all timers” are

1. hillsong united
2. dc Talk (go in the light!)
3. switchfoot
4. Brooke Fraser
5. Chris Tomlin… (just got his cd!)

Comment by Dave

Joe,you are awesome. You have great writing skills like your dad. Keep it up. I love you my son.

Comment by Mom

Top 5 most influential bands:
1. Joe brim
2. Joe brim
3. Joe brim
4. Joe brim
5. Joe brim

Somebody was bound to say it eventually…

Comment by bconway160




Leave a Reply

